What is Ashtanga?

A fluid practice

If you’ve heard of sun salutations, you’ve heard of Ashtanga yoga. The foundation for all Vinyasa yoga, Ashtanga connects postures, or asanas, into an energizing flow that keeps your body moving, breathing and sweating through each posture.

The Ashtanga Series

Build your practice

Ashtanga yoga has six series with set sequences: Primary, Intermediate and four Advanced Series. All students begin with Sun Salutations and move through the Primary Series at different rates, only advancing under the teacher’s guidance, which builds a strong, safe, and sustainable practice.

The History of Ashtanga

The beginnings of yoga

Ashtanga yoga was popularized by the late Sri K. Pattabhi Jois, a student of “the father of yoga,” T. Krishnamacharya, who also taught B. K. S. Iyengar, the creator of Iyengar yoga. Because of its history and direct teacher-student lineage, Ashtanga yoga is considered a traditional yogic practice, maintaining a form of asana from the original teachings.

The 8 Limbs of Yoga

The focus of your practice

Ashtanga is Sanskrit for “Eight Limbs.” Asana, our physical practice, acts as an entrance point to the eight branches. Through correct guidance and consistent practice, it reveals entrance to the other seven limbs.

Asset 13


Ethical Standards

Practicing the Golden Rule with others

Asset 1



Integrating mindful practices into our every day

Asset 7



Consistently practicing physical yoga postures

Asset 14



Mastering control of our breathing

Asset 6


Withdrawing the Senses

Drawing our awareness away from the external world

Asset 2



Focusing our awareness on a single point

Asset 3



Being acutely aware without focus

Asset 9


Meditative Absorption

Transcending the self and experiencing enlightenment