Understanding Moon Days

The Moon day schedule and an explanation of why we rest on them.

What are Moon Days in Ashtanga Yoga?

Moon days in Ashtanga Yoga are taken as rest days. This is in addition to the regular rest day during the week.

The sun and the moon both exert gravitational pulls on the earth, and their relative positions create energy differentials.  These pulls affect both our mind, and our body.

It can make us feel light and airy (energetic but ungrounded) or heavy and stiff (grounded but lethargic).  This creates an issue for practicing yoga because you need both energy, and to be well grounded if you want to progress safely through the serie(s).

That said - you may not "feel" the affects of gravity in your everyday life.  With everything we have going on, it's tough to be that "in tune" with nature.  But trust us, it's there.  And it makes a difference.  If you don't believe us, just go ask a health care professional working a midnight shift during a full moon...

2017 AYVic Moon Dates
There is no Mysore on the following dates;

Sat Jul 8 - Full Moon*
Sun Jul 23 - New Moon
Mon Aug 7 - Full Moon
Mon Aug 21 - New Moon
Tue Sep 5 - Full Moon
Tue Sep 19 - New Moon
Thu Oct 5 - Full Moon
Thu Oct 19 - New Moon
Fri Nov 3 - Full Moon
Sat Nov 18 - New Moon*
Sun Dec 3 - Full Moon
Sun Dec 17 - New Moon

*When the moon day falls on a Saturday, there is no Led Primary Series.

‚Äč